The American Advertising Awards is one of the industry’s largest creative competitions, attracting nearly 35,000 professional and student entries each year through local club competitions. The mission of the American Advertising Awards is to recognize and reward the creative spirit of excellence in advertising.

The national awards show will take place during ADMERICA, AAF’s national conference.

The American Advertising Awards is a three-tiered creative competition. Winners receive gold and/or silver ADDY awards. Gold winners will automatically move on to the National competition and Silver winners may forward at the entrant’s expense.

2019-2020 Important D2 American Advertising Award Information

NYC & D2 American Advertising Awards Co-Chair Contact Information:

Evie DeSarno
American Advertising Federation Pittsburgh/Ad 2 Pittsburgh 
Executive Director or

Matt Hildebrand
American Advertising Federation Pittsburgh,  American Advertising Awards Chair

NOTE:  please try Evie first with any questions that you have

Also, please consider joining our D2 slack channel: #d2-addy-awards

Open Water Support:

Billhighway Contact:

Webinar Link

AAF Resources Link  

The AAF would like to formally remind everyone that the competition is called the American Advertising Awards.  The trophy is called the ADDY.


All forwarded entries must be forwarded in the system by March 20, 2020.

All Forwarded Entries must be received in PITTSBURGH no later than March 23, 2020.


  • Gold:  $150 per entry
  • Silver:  $120 per entry
  • Student:  $40 per entry

Forwarded Entry Invoicing:

AAF District 2 will send you an invoice for forwarded entries.  Please review the list of forwarded entries sent with this invoice to  make sure that we have the same list of items to be forwarded.  Please see #15 below for reasons our numbers may not match

Payment Options:

Check  – Please make your check out to AAF District 2 and include with your manifest/entries 

Credit Card: The invoice will tell you how to pay via credit card (or Paypal).

PayPal Payments – send your payment to

Entry Delivery Location:

Cwenar Photography
1400 Breed Street
Pittsburgh, PA  15203
Attn:  District 2 Addy Award Entries (please make this big and bold)


Professional & Student timelines:

  • Online System Opens November 20, 2019
  • On-time Entries Due December 27, 2019, 5:00pm
  • Late Entries Due January 3, 2020, 5:00pm

Professional Rates:

  • Single Entry Fee $220 per entry
  • Campaign Entry Fee $240 per campaign
  • Late fees, add $30 to per entry base fees

Student Rates:

  • Single Entry Fee $35 per entry
  • Campaign $45 per entry
  • No early entry discount for students
  • Late fees, add $15 to per entry base fees


All information including entries, manifests, entry forms and checks (if paying by check) need to be sent to:

Cwenar Photography Studio
1400 Breed Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15203
(412)488-2660 (phone for shipping purposes only)
Attention: NEW YORK AAA’s/Addy’s (please make sure that this is prominently displayed)

You must register as a student or a professional, and member/non-member for the New York competition. Enter Here.

Access the Professional American Advertising Awards (aka The ADDYs) – Professional Rules and Revised Categories here.

Student Rules and Categories information here.

Interested in entering the American Advertising Awards in New York? Contact our co-chair at for information!

Team Syracuse Newhouse School of Public Communications has won the 2017 American Advertising Federation District Two’s National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC) sponsored by Ajinomoto Windsor and Tai Pei Asian Foods.

Team Syracuse Newhouse consisted of students Katherine Angst, Josh Daghir, Jess Dunne, Matt Hankin, Ryan Harper, Brianna Henry, Tessa Latrenta, Christian Lee, Elani Ruddock, Zack Schweikert, Mikaela Thomas, TJ Wells and Lan Zhang. The team was directed by lead faculty advisor Professor Brian Sheehan, co-advisor Professor Kevin Oneill and assisted by associate professor Beth Egan. Syracuse Newhouse were one of the first teams to present their advertising campaign for Tai Pei Asian Foods and was able to maintain their lead over 12 other competing colleges during a fierce 2 day event, which took place at the New York Institute of Technology (NYIT) Auditorium on Broadway in Manhattan on Saturday and Sunday, April 22nd and 23rd. This year’s team of esteemed judges selected by District Two NSAC chair Leslie Winthrop, included Abi Evans, Andrew KyrejkoBill GentnerBrandon Cooke, and Craig Markus.

2017 District Two NSAC Chair and Judges

Leslie Winthrop
District Two NSAC Chair AAR Partners
Abi Evans
US New Business Director at mcgarrybowen
Andrew Kyrejko
Creative Strategist at Lens & Focus
Bill Gentner
Business Strategist, Former President and CEO of Kao Corporation
Brandon Cooke
Global Chief Communications Officer at FCB
Craig Markus
Executive Creative Director at Cramer-Krasselt

When all was said and done, the top 4 winning teams were

  1. Syracuse Newhouse
  2. St. Johns University
  3. Penn State University
  4. Ithaca College

Syracuse Newhouse will now represent AAF District Two and move onto the AAF NSAC semi-finals taking place May 4th and 5th, 2017. Semi-final winners will then move onto the AAF NSAC National finals to be held at the AAF National Conference ADMERICA in New Orleans, June 8-10, 2017 with the winners being announced on June 9, 2017 where the top three teams will be awarded with trophies and cash prizes: 1st place $3,500; 2nd place $2,500; and 3rd place $2,000. On behalf of AAF District Two, NSAC Chair Leslie WinthropGovernor Doreen Defabio Duska, and Lt.Governor Daniel Chaparro would like to congratulate team Syracuse Newhouse on their win and wish them the best of luck in the upcoming NSAC semi-finals, with the hope of also being with them at the AAF NSAC National.

Additional Resources

Celebrating an Advertising Pioneer

District 2 of the AAF Introduces First Annual Legacy of a Lifetime Awards NEW YORK, NEW YORK, August 29, 2016 – Advertising legend Patricia Martin was a force to be reckoned with. Anyone in the industry will tell you that – with a smile and a nod of the head. A true industry…


THE FIRST ANNUAL LEGACY OF A LIFETIME AWARDS TO SPONSOR, SUPPORT, OR ATTEND VISIT LEGACYOFALIFETIME.ORG Join us as we commemorate a lifetime of contributions by Patricia Martin through the First Annual Legacy of a Lifetime Celebration. During a long and illustrious career that earned her a spot in the Advertising Hall of Fame, Pat was immersed…