© 2020 - All rights reserved.

Team Syracuse Newhouse Wins AAF District 2 NSAC 2017!

Team Syracuse Newhouse School of Public Communications has won the 2017 American Advertising Federation District Two’s National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC) sponsored by Ajinomoto Windsor and Tai Pei Asian Foods.

Team Syracuse Newhouse consisted of students Katherine Angst, Josh Daghir, Jess Dunne, Matt Hankin, Ryan Harper, Brianna Henry, Tessa Latrenta, Christian Lee, Elani Ruddock, Zack Schweikert, Mikaela Thomas, TJ Wells and Lan Zhang. The team was directed by lead faculty advisor Professor Brian Sheehan, co-advisor Professor Kevin Oneill and assisted by associate professor Beth Egan. Syracuse Newhouse were one of the first teams to present their advertising campaign for Tai Pei Asian Foods and was able to maintain their lead over 12 other competing colleges during a fierce 2 day event, which took place at the New York Institute of Technology (NYIT) Auditorium on Broadway in Manhattan on Saturday and Sunday, April 22nd and 23rd. This year’s team of esteemed judges selected by District Two NSAC chair Leslie Winthrop, included Abi Evans, Andrew KyrejkoBill GentnerBrandon Cooke, and Craig Markus.

2017 District Two NSAC Chair and Judges

Leslie Winthrop
District Two NSAC Chair AAR Partners
Abi Evans
US New Business Director at mcgarrybowen
Andrew Kyrejko
Creative Strategist at Lens & Focus
Bill Gentner
Business Strategist, Former President and CEO of Kao Corporation
Brandon Cooke
Global Chief Communications Officer at FCB
Craig Markus
Executive Creative Director at Cramer-Krasselt

When all was said and done, the top 4 winning teams were

  1. Syracuse Newhouse
  2. St. Johns University
  3. Penn State University
  4. Ithaca College

Syracuse Newhouse will now represent AAF District Two and move onto the AAF NSAC semi-finals taking place May 4th and 5th, 2017. Semi-final winners will then move onto the AAF NSAC National finals to be held at the AAF National Conference ADMERICA in New Orleans, June 8-10, 2017 with the winners being announced on June 9, 2017 where the top three teams will be awarded with trophies and cash prizes: 1st place $3,500; 2nd place $2,500; and 3rd place $2,000. On behalf of AAF District Two, NSAC Chair Leslie WinthropGovernor Doreen Defabio Duska, and Lt.Governor Daniel Chaparro would like to congratulate team Syracuse Newhouse on their win and wish them the best of luck in the upcoming NSAC semi-finals, with the hope of also being with them at the AAF NSAC National.

Additional Resources
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap